Amanda: One. Leftover Chicken: Zero.

I have a love/hate relationship with shredded chicken. Or turkey, since it’s post-Thanksgiving and that’s all we’ve been eating for the last 96 hours. It’s in quite a few of my favorite recipes (buffalo chicken dip – get in mah belllllayyyy). However, I hate.hate.hateeeeeeeeee shredding it. My mom can take two forks and in 5 minutes have a mound of perfectly shredded chicken. Seriously, she’s like the Hibachi guy and I’m sitting there still trying to extract my forks from each other.

One night last week we had leftover roasted chicken and I was all set to make epic chicken salad. Chyessssss. I got home from work thinking that this would be a leftover-type meal that I could whip together quickly. WRONG. I was looking at about 20 minutes of shredding. For sandwiches. That’s wayyyy too much effort for a sandwich. Ever. I had a staring match with the two forks for about 5 minutes before I decided I need to figure out a quicker way to get this shredding nonsense out of the way. Enter my ever-faithful blender. I swapped the top for the smaller, food-processor-style-jammer, tossed in some chicken and bam. Done. 30 seconds. AREYAFREAKINKIDDINGME.

I promise my blender was clean. Not that you can tell from the outside.

like whoa.

Anyway, I just thought I would share that quick little tip with you guys, because it seriously changed my whole outlook on life. Or something like that. And if you wanna know what else I toss into my epic chicken salad, here you go:

  • Leftover {shredded} chicken
  • 3-4 Celery Stalks – chopped
  • 2 TBSP Mayo (you can use light mayo or even Greek Yogurt if Mayo isn’t your thang)
  • 1 TBSP Red Wine Vinegar
  • Salt, Pepper, Garlic Powder
  • 1/2 fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • Whatever nuts, vegetables, and/or fruit I have in my fridge. It’s like a surprise each time.

Toss it all together (salt, pepper and garlic should be added to taste. I like garlic more than the average human, so I’ll leave that for you to figure out) and serve on plate/bread/lettuce. You get the gist.

Please tell me I’m not the only person in the entire world that hasn’t thought of this yet? Please?

Leave a Reply

