What does Boston have to do with Cheesy Chicken? Nothing, absolutely nothing.

This is one of my favorite meals because it’s super easy/quick, and happens to be one of the first things I used to ensnare cooked for my husband while I was living in Boston. That’s right, Boston. I never learned to pahk the cah in hahvahd yahd, but I did start saying cah-fee for a while. Then my native Jersey accent kicked in and I reverted back to caw-fee. Order restored.

Anywho, I learned this little guy from my mom (from whom (along with both my grandmas) I learned most of my cooking skills). Talented family, I’ll tell ya. Come hungry, leave heavy. But enough chatter, I know what you’re really after.

Cheesy Chicken

Ingredients

  • 3-4 boneless chicken breasts
  • 1 box of penne pasta
  • 2 packages of shredded cheese (I use 1 sharp cheddar and 1 fat free cheddar)
  • 1 cup of fat-free Greek yogurt
  • 2 green bell peppers
  • 2 red bell peppers
  • 1 package of mushrooms, sliced.
  • ½ cup milk
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • Parmesan cheese (optional)
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Garlic Powder

Instructions

  1. Put skillet/pan on medium
  2. Put butter in skillet to melt
  3. Add sliced peppers and mushrooms
  4. Sprinkle with salt, pepper and garlic powder
  5. Stir, cover and leave until veggies start getting tender
  6. While veggies are cooking, cut up chicken breast into 1 inch chunks
  7. Sprinkle with seasonings.
  8. Add chicken to skillet.

    now would not be the time to pick at this dish. unless, you know, you’re partial to salmonella.

  9. Boil water and cook pasta.
  10. While pasta is cooking, get a small pan and heat up milk and Greek yogurt.
  11. Once hot, add in cheese, little by little, stiring until melted.
  12. Drain cooked pasta, add to skillet with veggies and chicken.
  13. Stir in cheese sauce.

    yeahhh buddy. we’re gettin’ close!

  14. Serve and enjoy!

    feast status.

PS. My portions are never this small. I wish I could exercise that type of self-control. Gimmecakegimmecakegimmecake.

3 thoughts on “What does Boston have to do with Cheesy Chicken? Nothing, absolutely nothing.

  1. Pingback: Meal Plan Madness | Lady and the Trash

Leave a Reply

