Turkey Meat Sauce

Last night, I went food shopping for this week’s meals. I came home and made some delish (if I do say so myself) turkey meat sauce. This is a great meal to throw together quickly if you want to be on the couch in twenty minutes, watching reruns of Breaking Bad. It’s also on the healthier side because turkey can have less fat than ground beef, you just need to make sure you buy the right cut. A few months ago, I had to trick the hubster into eat turkey and admitting he liked it before I would tell him what it was. But now, even he says that it’s pretty damn good.

Ingredients:
• 1.5 – 2 lbs of lean ground turkey meat
• 2 Jars of your favorite pasta sauce, we are big Ragu Traditional fans when it’s not our own homemade sauce.
• 3-4 garlic cloves, chopped
• 1 box of Penne/Rigatoni pasta (want to go even healthier? Get whole wheat pasta. It’s about 50 cents more per box, so it shouldn’t break your budget. I just haven’t had the energy to fight that battle with my husband yet).
• Salt
• Pepper
• Garlic Powder
• Italian Seasoning
• Italian Bread (optional)
• Parmesean Cheese (optional)
• 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil (I usually use extra virgin olive oil over butter, but realized I was out last night, so the pics show butter. Sue me.)

Directions:
1. Add oil to a skillet, turn on medium/medium-high to heat up.
2. Chop garlic into thin pieces (ever see Goodfellas? Break out that prison-issued razor blade).
3. Add garlic to pan and cook until garlic starts to become translucent.


4. While garlic is cooking, add water to a pot to boil for your pasta.
5. Once garlic is simmering in the oil (but not burning. It shouldn’t be turning black, or too dark of a brown) add the ground turkey meat.
6. I usually add a dash (or two) of salt, pepper and garlic powder (sensing a theme?) to the meat before it starts cooking.
7. I use a wooden spatula to break up the turkey into smaller pieces. Otherwise it cooks in huge chunks and suddenly you’re sword-fighting for that last piece of meat. It can get ugly.

Meet my wooden spatula. It will probably be the one with which I beat my kids. Totalllllllly kidding. Sort of.

8. Once the meat is browned, add your sauce to the pan. This is typically where I add more garlic and Italian seasonings. Get to it.


9. Add your pasta to the boiling water. You would think I wouldn’t have to put this part, but it’s a mad world out there, and sometimes your cat attacking your dog’s eyes, ears and throat distracts you. I get it. I’ve been there.
10. Let the meat sauce simmer while your pasta cooks.

Freakin’ yum, right?

11. Once pasta is done, serve! Break out the red wine (or milk if you’re a weirdo like me).

I hoard the bread. You never know when they will stop making it.

12. Enjoy that 13th episode straight of Breaking Bad.

One thought on “Turkey Meat Sauce

  1. Pingback: Meal Plan Madness | Lady and the Trash

Leave a Reply

